WhatsApp has added a new feature to its platform that allows users to send messages that will disappear after seven days. These messages can be sent on individual chats and groups, the company said on its support page.
The disappearing messages feature can be enabled by users in individual chats, while only group admins can turn it on or off on groups. If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven-day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened, the company said.
Media received will be automatically downloaded to photos. If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent to the chat will disappear, but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is switched on. The message will not disappear in the forwarded chat if it is forwarded to another chat with disappearing messages setting turned off.